Page 1 of 1

Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:39 pm
by jawapro
Early Feburary I was working out what to update my computer to, and some of your fine members here decided to tell me to wait for the new Yorkfield processors that were about to be released 'in mere days'.

Of course - they were right. It's stupid to buy something if its going to be replaced by a better product in a week's time.

But it's been over a month now, and still no sign of the Intel Yorkfield Quad Core processors. Well, there is one - but it's over $1000, so I dont want that.

So any news on when these mysterious beasts might actually see the light of day?

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:13 pm
by bennyling
Hey - I don't work for Intel, so I don't know.

You'd be best off feverishly refreshing the Intel rumour sites, IMHO. ;)

Fingers crossed, it should be sometime soon.

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:40 am
by jawapro
Which is what you said a month ago...

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:58 am
by bennyling
Yeah, I know. And I'm sorry I can't accurately predict the release of Intel hardware!

By all means, buy another chip while you're waiting. I know you wanna use your new machine, so go get the Q6600. Should only cost you about $300, and you'll be able to use your machine while you wait for Yorkfield to be released!

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:53 am
by jawapro
I'm pretty tempted to do just that.

That way I can throw the slower chip in Karlendorf when I buy him a cheap motherboard.

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:02 pm
by bennyling
I was actually kidding.

IMHO, it would be silly to buy a new proc NOW, especially as Yorkfield is about to be released.

This fold-up keyboard is funny to type on. And WHY are there TWO space buttons? I don't understand...

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:06 pm
by jawapro
Which is the exact argument you made over a month ago.

Strangely - I actually listened.

But here we are - over a month later. What's changed?

Some Yorkfields have been released - but more expensive than you said.

But in the mean time - my current computer is dying. I would say 'slowly dying' except it's speeding up.

I have already had to give up games on my PC (with exception of old games like Starcraft, which it can still handle) and make use of my Xbox. Embaressingly, I have finished both Halo 2 and 3 now.

With a decent system that was behaving itself, I can understand and even support waiting for new processors - but when the speed increases arnt that great anyway, I cant be bothered hanging around with a paper weight that is getting to the point where displaying a GUI is beyond its capability. Much as I enjoy a good CLI, I'm a gamer - and you can only play HHGTTG so many times....

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:07 pm
by bennyling
Yeah - I'm sorry.

I heard about Intel's X48 chipset way back in Q3 (or Q4 - I can't remember) of 2007 - guess what - Intel have only just released in the US, as in products-on-shelves released, not announced-released.

Things just get announced - but not released - and it annoys me. I blame the rumour/so-called "news" sites. Always getting me excited about new products, AGES before their actual release.

Anyway. Wait. Yorkfield will come.

And the blog is fixed.

Cheers!

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:52 am
by Darth Strawberry
i have the same keyboard benny and i cant explain why there are 2 space bars. strange thing the roll-up keyboard. anyway thats enough off track for me

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:04 am
by jawapro
I assume the space bar is split in half?

That would be to help it roll up. Easier to roll 2 smaller buttons than one large one.

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:52 pm
by bennyling
Yeah, I don't quite know why it has 2 spacebars.

Even stranger still, are the two unlabelled keys on either side of the spacebars - WHY!

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:31 pm
by jawapro
Check my blog post - http://www.jawapro.com/viewthread.php?postid=337 - for a bit of a rant about Yorkfields, and the wasted months.

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:44 pm
by bennyling
Yeah, I did.

I'm sorry you had to wait that long only to find disappointment - but it truly wasn't my fault! There was no way I could have accurately predicted a hardware release from a major vendor - heck, I got all my info from Wikipedia, and we all know what that's like...

Please, don't blame me!