Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

For every computer in the world has this. Zap yourself here to discuss the latest and greatest hardware for computers!

Moderator: Moderators

Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:39 pm

Early Feburary I was working out what to update my computer to, and some of your fine members here decided to tell me to wait for the new Yorkfield processors that were about to be released 'in mere days'.

Of course - they were right. It's stupid to buy something if its going to be replaced by a better product in a week's time.

But it's been over a month now, and still no sign of the Intel Yorkfield Quad Core processors. Well, there is one - but it's over $1000, so I dont want that.

So any news on when these mysterious beasts might actually see the light of day?
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:13 pm

Hey - I don't work for Intel, so I don't know.

You'd be best off feverishly refreshing the Intel rumour sites, IMHO. ;)

Fingers crossed, it should be sometime soon.
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:40 am

Which is what you said a month ago...
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:58 am

Yeah, I know. And I'm sorry I can't accurately predict the release of Intel hardware!

By all means, buy another chip while you're waiting. I know you wanna use your new machine, so go get the Q6600. Should only cost you about $300, and you'll be able to use your machine while you wait for Yorkfield to be released!
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:53 am

I'm pretty tempted to do just that.

That way I can throw the slower chip in Karlendorf when I buy him a cheap motherboard.
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Tue Mar 18, 2008 4:02 pm

I was actually kidding.

IMHO, it would be silly to buy a new proc NOW, especially as Yorkfield is about to be released.

This fold-up keyboard is funny to type on. And WHY are there TWO space buttons? I don't understand...
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:06 pm

Which is the exact argument you made over a month ago.

Strangely - I actually listened.

But here we are - over a month later. What's changed?

Some Yorkfields have been released - but more expensive than you said.

But in the mean time - my current computer is dying. I would say 'slowly dying' except it's speeding up.

I have already had to give up games on my PC (with exception of old games like Starcraft, which it can still handle) and make use of my Xbox. Embaressingly, I have finished both Halo 2 and 3 now.

With a decent system that was behaving itself, I can understand and even support waiting for new processors - but when the speed increases arnt that great anyway, I cant be bothered hanging around with a paper weight that is getting to the point where displaying a GUI is beyond its capability. Much as I enjoy a good CLI, I'm a gamer - and you can only play HHGTTG so many times....
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:07 pm

Yeah - I'm sorry.

I heard about Intel's X48 chipset way back in Q3 (or Q4 - I can't remember) of 2007 - guess what - Intel have only just released in the US, as in products-on-shelves released, not announced-released.

Things just get announced - but not released - and it annoys me. I blame the rumour/so-called "news" sites. Always getting me excited about new products, AGES before their actual release.

Anyway. Wait. Yorkfield will come.

And the blog is fixed.

Cheers!
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby Darth Strawberry on Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:52 am

i have the same keyboard benny and i cant explain why there are 2 space bars. strange thing the roll-up keyboard. anyway thats enough off track for me
Darth Strawberry
Participant
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: In a flash portal

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:04 am

I assume the space bar is split in half?

That would be to help it roll up. Easier to roll 2 smaller buttons than one large one.
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:52 pm

Yeah, I don't quite know why it has 2 spacebars.

Even stranger still, are the two unlabelled keys on either side of the spacebars - WHY!
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby jawapro on Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:31 pm

Check my blog post - http://www.jawapro.com/viewthread.php?postid=337 - for a bit of a rant about Yorkfields, and the wasted months.
Image
Fear me - for I am ROOT....
User avatar
jawapro
Contributor
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:23 pm
Location: Devonport

Re: Yorkfield, Yorkfield, where art thou Yorkfield???

Postby bennyling on Sat Apr 19, 2008 8:44 pm

Yeah, I did.

I'm sorry you had to wait that long only to find disappointment - but it truly wasn't my fault! There was no way I could have accurately predicted a hardware release from a major vendor - heck, I got all my info from Wikipedia, and we all know what that's like...

Please, don't blame me!
User avatar
bennyling
Whoa!
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Blackmans Bay, TAS


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron